Alarmist

When sometimes I stay up too late
I don’t leave waking up to Fate
Or happenstance. I set alarms
And place the clocks out where my arms
Can’t reach them when I flail and slap
To mute what interrupts my nap.
My Android phone keeps two or three;
My Timex watches out for me;
My hungry cat, requesting feeding,
Taps my cheek and leaves me bleeding;
Pots of water drain and fill
Successively until the spill
Lands damply on my bloodstained face.
If none of them my dreams erase,
There’s one thing guaranteed to work:
My upstairs neighbor is a jerk.
Suffice to say, I’m rarely late
From oversleeping. Don’t trust Fate.

About Michael

Silliness is good
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

