That’s Not Who Iamb

I’ll never say I told you so.
That’s not how I prefer to go
Through life, forever keeping score.
If we’re true friends, we’ve got much more
Important bonds. You think I’d sever
Those to prove to you I’m clever?
Crazy! Petty isn’t how
I roll, and you should know by now
That though I may be lazy, you
Can always count on me to do
The work required to ensure
That our friendship will endure.
No outside force, no matter how
Impressive has that power, now
Or in the future. (Though, of course,
Should you decide to bet a horse
Despite my fervent fight
Against…we’ll know who’s right.)

About Michael

Silliness is good
This entry was posted in poetry, sonnet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

