Adult Swim

I dreamed that I was standing in the pool
(The shallow end, of course; I’m not that tall)
And someone’s baby, there despite the rule
Against non-swimmers swimming laps and all,
Was hanging on the lane line. He let go
To paddle toward his mother, who was in
The next lane, right behind me. (I don’t know
Why none of this was odd.) What happened then
Was that the toddler sank, his arm stretched out
To both of us adults. I knew that I
Just had to duck to reach him, had no doubt
That I could do so, but I couldn’t. Why?
I woke up, not yet panicked, with a start.
My book slammed to the floor. Be still, my heart.

About Michael

Silliness is good
This entry was posted in poetry, sonnet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adult Swim

  1. True that you had the dream? Whether or not, it would be disturbing. Enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

