Pearlescent

For thirty years, today, I’ve worn this ring
For thirty-nine months more I’d wished it so
I’m baffled that you chose to do this thing
Yet far more grateful than you’ll ever know
Because of you a daughter and a son
Both call me Papa (okay, that’s on him)
You said “I do” in front of everyone
And now we proudly gaze, as one, on them
This happy married man and family
Exist because you took a crazy chance
On someone who did not deserve you (me)
And taught this two-left-footnik how to dance
I love you more than freckles love the sun
And if it’s up to me, we’ve just begun

About Michael

Silliness is good
This entry was posted in poetry, sonnet and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

