Not A Sonnet

This is not a sonnet. Move along,
If that’s your jam. There are no sonnets here.
Whomever sent you this-a-way was wrong.
You’re in for disappointment here, I fear.
A sonnet takes an effort in excess
Of what I have to give this Friday eve.
Were I more motivated, I confess
I’d cough one up, but it’s not worth the heave.
Check back another day. The weekend’s good,
Sundays especially, when I’ve slept in,
But through the week I don’t sleep as I should.
(Next Friday I’ll be out of gas again.)
I’m glad you happened by. I cherish you
And your support! How ’bout a nice haiku?

About Michael

Silliness is good
This entry was posted in haiku, poetry, sonnet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

