*click*

Why is it that I’m standing here?
Whence came this now from yesteryear?
The road on which I strode has gone;
Where weeds now lounge was once a lawn.
Have I the nerve to turn around?
Would what I’ve lost be thusly found?

I had a purpose, way back when.
I knew where I was bound for, then.
My weight upon my lesser foot,
I forward did the better put
Toward glory! Bold, into the night!
To…what? It’s vanished, like the light
On this dark porch…dark…why so dark?
Oh, right.

About Michael

Silliness is good
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

