Anything But

A sonnet, right? Is that what you expect?
The Ides of March makes it a natural choice,
But I don’t want to write one. I reject
The impulse, though I recognize its voice:
Come on, it’s easy, you won’t have to work.
Pentameter comes naturally to you!
And iambs? Those are practically a perk!
To write a verse
without them’s hard to do!
It doesn’t matter. I’ve made up my mind,
And when I put my (non-syllabic) foot
Down on a subject, rest assured, you’ll find
My foot remains exactly where it’s put!
I will not write a sonnet. Not tonight.
No more discussion.
So…what should I write?

About Michael

Silliness is good
This entry was posted in poetry, sonnet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anything But

  1. Judy says:

    Inspired.

Leave a Reply

