You Have To Know How

Too bored to play mah jongg,
Too tired to walk,
We stared out the window
And tried not to talk.
The bones of our goldfish
Lay bleached on the floor.
At first we’d both missed him;
We don’t anymore.
Then something went snork!
It was Sally, asleep
In her La-Z-Boy
Which she’d bought second-hand, cheap.
I reached for my poke-stick
To prod her awake
Then decided, why bother?
Why not let her take
A quick nap before supper?
As far as that goes,
Why don’t I take one with her?
I covered my nose
With my apnea mask
And was sleeping like that,
So we missed it: No visit
From Cat in the Hat.

About Michael

Silliness is good
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

