Weakened Warrior

I didn’t shovel fourteen feet of snow
Or take a chainsaw to that fallen tree.
I haven’t done my taxes, even though
Intuit says they’re standing by for me.
I didn’t chase the gummint off are land
Or send the Bundys back where they belong.
It’s not through me you finally understand
The way you’ve always done that thing is wrong.
That stack of work is equally undone
Today as when I left on Friday night.
I found my shoes, but never took that run
I’d planned to take (and now we’ve lost the light).
The full moon came and went without my aid.
Two diems, comprehensively carpe’d.

About Michael

Silliness is good
This entry was posted in poetry, sonnet and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

