Streaker

I’m a streaker, I admit,
And (mostly) I’m not proud of it.
It’s simply easier to do
The same again than something new.
I ran one race the year it started;
Now I might be broken-hearted
If I had to miss a year?
There’s something not-so-healthy here.
I don’t think I’m OCD
But isn’t everyone (two, three)
The slightest bit compulsive when
The other option’s start again?
If I’ve put in a ton of time
Toward running, learning, writing rhyme
Or nearly anything and built
A lengthy streak, I can’t but wilt
A tiny bit if interrupted.
It’s as if the deed’s corrupted
If a multi-hundred run
Of instances is re-begun.
I know, it’s good to take a break.
Too much is always a mistake.
I know all this…and yet…and yet…
I mean to quit, then I forget.
And so, as K.V. wrote, it goes.
I streak, but mostly wearing clothes.

About Michael

Silliness is good
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Streaker

  1. Judy says:

    We’re glad you are. Don’t stop. Shall we nominate you for a MacArthur Grant, “while we’re up?”

Leave a Reply

