Sometimes A Great Nosehorn

Rhinoceroses love my jokes–
I’m in their Top 10 Favorite Blokes!
(The British influence is strong
Amongst* rhinoceri. *Among?)
When conversation turns to me
Their great gray grins are sweet to see.
When angry rhinos stamp and spit
I rarely am the cause of it.
Appreciative though I am
It sometimes puts me in a jam
When each assumes I’ll take his part
In matters of the rhino heart.
They flatter me, but I’m no fool.
Don’t poke your nose in, that’s my rule,
Especially one unadorned
With keratin that’s been enhorned
As odd-toed ungulates’s are.
(I tried it once. I hide the scar.)
I’m not their Cupid, one of them
Benighted rhinoceraphim
Of which the rhino minstrels sing.
I make them laugh, though. That’s my thing.

About Michael

Silliness is good
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

