Habe O’Corpus

I’ve kept a tiny furry freak
Inside a sack for years. The week
Of March the 17th is when
I feed it, then it goes back in.

It’s angry almost every year
(Which isn’t shocking). When I peer
Inside the sack at Hallowe’en
It’s scarlet where it isn’t green.

I sometimes feel a touch of shame,
But face it, you’d have done the same
In my position. Once, it said
That if I let it go, I’m dead!

I don’t know why it’s in the sack
But it’s too late to take it back.
The die–why won’t it die?–is cast.
We both are victims of my past.

About Michael

Silliness is good
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

