Fate

It’s difficult to overstate
How much I don’t believe in Fate.
If que sera, sera’s legit,
Why even try to mess with it?
If it’s been written that I’ll write
This verse, should I just say good-night
Right now, and let these last lines go?
They’ll be there by tomorrow, no?
If Kismet dictates, ’twill be done
Though I write forty lines, or none!
And yet, I’m confident that I
Can miss a deadline if I try,
Or, rather, don’t try. I’ve a record
Leniently described as “checkered”
When it comes to turning in
Reports on time. If I begin
To write the day a paper’s due,
Look up: The moon is likely blue.
To trust in Fate to do the work
On my behalf, I’d be a jerk.
(Which may well be the case; if so,
It’s all the fault of Fate, you know.)
“The Moving Finger writes”–that’s me.
Whose hand’s the Finger on? We’ll see.

About Michael

Silliness is good
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

